Hours [effective 9/3/19]
YMCA at 62 Turner St. | Mon–Fri: 4:30 a.m.–9 p.m. | Sat–Sun: 7 a.m.–5 p.m.
The Y at CMMC | Mon-Fri: 5 a.m.–8 p.m. | Sat & Sun: 7 a.m.- Noon.

YMCA NAPA tournament nets $30K for kids

September 20, 2016

Thirty-five teams turned out on Sept. 15 for the 7th annual YMCA NAPA Charity Golf Tournament, netting $30,387.

The event took place at Martindale Country Club in Auburn and featured more than 50 sponsors from the local business community.

All proceeds will benefit the YMCA’s financial assistance program, which last year gave away more than $95,000 in scholarships to local children and families who would not otherwise be able to participate in enrichment programs at the Y, including summer camp, swim lessons, youth sports, and dance.

Jim Whitmore, owner of five local NAPA stores, has been title sponsor since the tournament’s inception in 2010. A lifelong member of the Y and father of two, he says, “First and foremost, the YMCA is a cause. It’s a place where children and adults of all ages can become healthier and stronger together.

“Our tournament is about making sure those opportunities exist for all families, regardless of ability to pay.” 

This year’s tournament took on a special significance as more than 150 players and guests celebrated the induction of Pennell Woodard of Auburn into the 2016 YMCA Hall of Fame. In addition to his more than 50 years of service to the Y, Woodard is among the tournament’s founding committee members.

In a citation delivered during the tournament’s reception, CEO Steve Wallace said, “There have been many community leaders among Mr. Pennell Woodard’s generation, but for the breadth and depth of his service, Penny stands head and shoulders above his peers.”

The day also offered several opportunities for players to show off their skills. Among the tournament standouts were Team Kimberly-Clark and Team Patrons Oxford Insurance, who took first gross and first net, respectively. Ethan Guerette of Auburn once again won longest drive for the men, while Lena-Jo Hartlety of Auburn won longest drive among the women.

The tournament’s planning committee is already looking ahead to next year’s event, which will take place at Martindale in September 2017.

Members of the 2016 committee included Sharon Chapman (chair), Jim Whitmore, Greg Whitney, Fern Masse, Pennell Woodard, Beth Shea, Kim Slivinski, Joseph Perryman, Greg Hird, Chris Shea, Marcie Hird, Rebecca Hodgdon and Victoria Stanton.

<< Back To News


Leave the first comment


Can't read it? Reload the image.